Mediation

Mediation

Another instrument of alternative dispute resolution (ADR) is mediation. In this procedure, which is not very formal but nevertheless structured, the parties themselves are to reach an amicable agreement in their dispute with the assistance of a mediator.

On the one hand, mediation procedures can be conducted out of court before a mediator. On the other hand, there is also the possibility to hear the matter in conciliation proceedings before a judge acting as a mediator who is not involved in the decision of the legal dispute later on.

 

The central point of the mediation procedure is the voluntary nature of its execution. Each party is free to terminate the mediation at any time during the procedure. The mediator has no decision-making power under any circumstances. Rather, his task is to help the parties with regard to communication and conduct of negotiations and to point out to them aspects in relation to their interests which are not only based on the applicable law.

In a mediation procedure, the parties are free to take into account and incorporate into a settlement agreement a variety of aspects that might not even be considered in a settlement before an ordinary court or an arbitral tribunal. Mediation is flexible and, like arbitration, confidential.

Our offer for you

In our many years of practice as lawyers, we have represented clients in both in-court and out-of-court mediation and are therefore very familiar with the mechanisms of this form of alternative dispute resolution. We check for you whether your case is suitable for mediation at all and if so, which form of mediation should be chosen. We are also networked with a large number of mediators and will be happy to recommend the right mediator for your case to you.

If you are wondering whether your dispute can be settled by mediation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Mediation

Mediation

Ein weiteres Instrument der alternativen Streitbeilegung (ADR) ist die Mediation. In diesem wenig förmlichen aber gleichwohl strukturierten Verfahren sollen die Parteien selbst mithilfe der Unterstützung durch einen Mediator eine gütliche Einigung in ihrer Auseinandersetzung erzielen.

Mediationsverfahren können zum einen außergerichtlich vor einem Mediator durchgeführt werden. Zum anderen gibt es auch vor einem ordentlichen Gericht die Möglichkeit, die Sache in einem Güteverfahren vor einem Güterichter zu verhandeln, der in die Entscheidung des Rechtsstreits nicht eingebunden ist.

Zentraler Punkt des Mediationsverfahrens ist die Freiwilligkeit seiner Durchführung. Jeder Partei steht es zu jedem Zeitpunkt der Mediation frei, die Mediation abzubrechen. Dem Mediator kommt in keinem Fall eine Entscheidungsgewalt zu. Seine Aufgabe ist es vielmehr, den Parteien in Bezug auf die Kommunikation und Verhandlungsführung zu helfen und ihnen interessebezogen auch Aspekte aufzuzeigen, die sich nicht nur am geltenden Recht orientieren.

In einem Mediationsverfahren steht es den Parteien frei, eine Vielzahl von Aspekten zu berücksichtigen und in eine Einigung einfließen zu lassen, die man unter Umständen nicht einmal in einem Vergleich vor einem ordentlichen Gericht oder einem Schiedsgericht berücksichtigen könnte. Die Mediation ist flexibel und wie ein Schiedsverfahren vertraulich.

Unser Angebot für Sie

In unserer langjährigen Tätigkeit als Rechtsanwälte haben wir Mandanten sowohl in gerichtlichen als auch außergerichtlichen Mediationen vertreten und sind daher mit den Mechanismen dieser Streitbeilegungsform bestens vertraut. Wir prüfen für Sie, ob sich ihr Fall für überhaupt für eine Mediation eignet und falls ja, welche Form der Mediation zu wählen ist. Wir sind darüber hinaus auch mit einer Vielzahl von Mediatoren vernetzt und empfehlen Ihnen gerne den richtigen Mediator für Ihren Fall.

Wenn Sie sich fragen, ob sich eine Streitigkeit durch eine Mediation beilegen lässt, zögern Sie nicht uns anzusprechen.